The Dance Festival and Black Continents, created in 2007 as an extension of the festival “Dance in Toulouse” is a synthesis and an answer to all the critics on the richness of cultural diversity as an added value for society. It is an obvious answer to the enclaves faced by too much of society.

Combining cultural technical, social to the artistic heritage to the memory, the project Dances and Black Continents door in front of the stage folk dances vector intercultural and poses them as a political and artistic challenge.

The Dance Festival and Black Continents takes place every year during the holidays of All Saints, on the whole of the Urban Community of Greater Toulouse, the Haute Garonne, Midi-Pyrénées Region and internationally. This is a special time for the public reception of memory, heritage and current creative artists whose work, vision shaped the history of twentieth century art and particularly Dance. This project is now supported by a group of cultural practitioners, associations, researchers, intellectuals, artists, concerned citizens, committed to social transformation of society.

Germaine Acogny is the godmother of the festival since its first edition:
“James is concerned about the working memory and resistance, realizing an exceptional job directory and transmission of works by choreographers black America and Africa. I am proud and happy to be the godmother of Dances and Black Continents and I wish all the success that this initiative deserves. “

Le festival Danses et Continents Noirs, créé en 2007 en prolongement du festival «Danse à Toulouse», est une synthèse et une réponse à tous les détracteurs sur la richesse de la diversité culturelle comme plus-value pour la société. Il est une réponse évidente aux enclaves rencontrées par une trop grande partie de la société.

Mêlant le culturel à la technique, le social à l’artistique, le patrimoine à la mémoire, le projet Danses et Continents Noirs porte au devant de la scène les danses populaires vectrices d’interculturalité, et les pose comme un enjeu politique et artistique.

Le festival Danses et Continents Noirs a lieu chaque année pendant les vacances de la Toussaint, sur l’ensemble de la Communauté Urbaine du Grand Toulouse, le Département de la Haute Garonne, la Région Midi-Pyrénées et à l’International. C’est un moment privilégié, pour le public, de réception de la mémoire, du patrimoine et de la création actuelle des artistes dont le travail, la vision ont façonné l’histoire de l’art du XXème siècle et plus particulièrement la Danse. Ce projet est aujourd’hui porté par un collectif d’acteurs culturels, associatifs, chercheurs, intellectuels, artistes, citoyens soucieux et engagés pour une transformation sociale de la société.

Germaine Acogny est la marraine du festival depuis sa première édition :

« James est soucieux du travail de mémoire et de résistance, en réalisant un travail exceptionnel de répertoire et de transmission des œuvres des chorégraphes noirs d’Amérique et d’Afrique.
Je suis fière et heureuse d’être la marraine de Danses et Continents Noirs et je souhaite tout le succès que cette initiative mérite. »