James Carles is a choreographer, researcher and lecturer. He received initial training in dance and music of Africa and its Diaspora and then trained with the great names of modern dance in New York and London mainly. Since 1992, he hired an artistic and analytical approach that explores the “places junctions” between the dances, rhythms and philosophies of Africa and its Diaspora with technical and western thoughts frames. To date, his company’s directory contains more than fifty pieces of his own creation and authors like Katherine Dunham, Pearl Primus, Talley Beatty, Asadata Dafora, Geraldine Armstrong, Rick Odums, Wayne Barbaste, Carolyn Carlson, Robyn Orlin, etc.

Dancer soloist and outstanding performer, James Carles was performer and artistic collaborator for not only numerous “all music” ranging from Baroque to contemporary music, through jazz; but also choreographers such as Carolyn Carlson, Robyn Orlin, Rui Horta, Myriam Naisy, etc.

Artist associated with Astrada- Jazz In Marciac 2012-2014, research associate in the laboratory of the University LLA Créatis Jean Jaures Toulouse, James Carles is particularly invests in heritage projects for diversity and diffusion of choreographic culture. He is also founder and artistic director of the festival “Dances and Black Continents”.

James Carlès est chorégraphe, chercheur et conférencier. Il reçoit une formation initiale en danses et musiques d’Afrique et de sa Diaspora puis il se forme auprès des grands noms de la danse moderne à New York et à Londres principalement. Depuis 1992, il a engagé une démarche artistique et analytique qui explore les « lieux de jonctions » entre les danses, rythmes et philosophies d’Afrique et de sa Diaspora avec les techniques et les cadres de pensées occidentales. À ce jour, le répertoire de sa compagnie est riche de plus d’une cinquantaine de pièces de sa propre création et d’auteurs comme Katherine Dunham, Pearl Primus, Talley Beatty, Asadata Dafora, Géraldine Armstrong, Rick Odums, Wayne Barbaste, Carolyn Carlson, Robyn Orlin, etc.

Danseur soliste et performer hors pair, James Carlès a été interprète et collaborateur artistique pour  non seulement, de nombreux « ensemble musicaux » allant du Baroque, à la musique contemporaine, en passant par le Jazz ; mais également des chorégraphes tels que Carolyn Carlson, Robyn Orlin, Rui Horta, Myriam Naisy, etc.

Artiste associé à l’Astrada- Jazz In Marciac de 2012 à 2014, chercheur associé au laboratoire LLA Créatis de l’université Jean-Jaurès de Toulouse, James Carlès est particulièrement investit dans des projets patrimoniaux pour la diversité et la diffusion de la culture chorégraphique. Il est également créateur et directeur artistique du festival « Danses et Continents Noirs ».