Alvin Ailey School Professor

Artistic Director, dancer and choreographer, Michael Leon Thomas is the founder of MOTION THEATER LAB, which is dedicated to developing dance theater programming for television and film.  A native of South Carolina, Thomas made his professional debut with renowned dancer and artistic director Judith Jamison.

In 1991 Michael joined the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, where he gained instant recognition for his passionate performances of Alvin Ailey’s Love Song’s, Billy Wilson’s Winter in Lisbon, Jawole Zollar’s Shelter and Dwight Rhoden’s Frames.  Thomas was also featured in Judith Jamison’s Emmy Award-winning PBS special, A Hymn for Alvin Ailey, performing a solo to his own words as interpreted by award winning actress/playwright Anna Deavere Smith.

Mr. Thomas has performed principal roles with a variety of dance companies, including the Lar Lubovitch Dance Company in the critically acclaimed production of Men’s Stories, Zvi Gotheiner & Dancers, Dance Brazil, Donald Byrd/ The Group, and the Complexions Contemporary Ballet.

Thomas began his artistic direction work in 1998 when he and two former Ailey dancers, Elizabeth Roxas and Karine Plantadit form RhythMEK, enjoying rave reviews for their company premieres at the Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival with Lightbody, as well as performances at Prospect Park’s Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival, LMCC’s Evening Stars at the World Trade Center and the Telluride Dance Festival in Colorado.  MOTION THEATER LAB has enjoyed premieres of his sci-fi ballet, Aquarius Rising as part of the City Parks SummerStage Series and Thoroughly Modern Michael at Aaron Davis Hall.

Besides his company work, Michael is

the program director for the Complexions Contemporary Ballet’s dance intensives, teaches for both The Ailey Arts & Education Revelations residencies and the Lubovitch Dance Your Dream Programs.  His choreography has been commissioned by The University of North Carolina School of the Arts, The Cape Town Dance Company, The Frank Sinatra School of the Arts, Long Island University (Brooklyn and CW Post), Encuentro Internacional de Danza in Madrid, Spain.

Mr. Thomas resumed his work with Anna Deavere Smith as her movement coach for the US tour and the PBS filming of her one woman show Let Me Down Easy.  He continues to teach at Ailey Extension, in the US and abroad and is currently working on his next production, Apotheosis.  He received his BFA in Dance from the North Carolina School of Arts, where he was a recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence.

PROFESSEUR ALVIN AILEY SCHOOL

Directeur artistique, Danseur et Chorégraphe, Michael Leon Thomas est le fondateur de MOTION THEATER LAB, qui est dédié au développement de la programmation danse-théâtre pour la télévision et le cinéma. Originaire de la Caroline du Sud, Michael fait ses débuts avec la danseuse de renom et Directrice Artistique Judith Jamison.

En 1991, Michael rejoint l’Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, où il acquiert une reconnaissance instantanée pour ses interprétations passionnées de Alvin Ailey Love Song, Billy Wilson’s Winter in Lisbon, Jawole Zollar’s Shelter and Dwight Rhoden.  Il a également été en vedette dans Judith Jamison Emmy Award-winning PBS spécial, un hymne pour Alvin Ailey, et a  effectué un solo à ses propres mots, tel qu’interprété par l’actrice / dramaturge réalisatrice primée Anna Deavere Smith.

M. Thomas a interprété des rôles principaux dans plusieurs compagnies de danse, y compris la Lar Lubovitch Dance Company dans la production acclamée par la critique des histoires pour hommes, Zvi Gotheiner & Dancers, Dance Brazil, Donald Byrd/ The Group, et le Complexions Contemporary Ballet.

En 1998, Michael fait ses preuves en tant que Directeur Artistique lorsque lui et deux anciens danseurs Ailey, Elizabeth Roxas et Karine Plantadit forment RhythMEK, et sont reconnus par des critiques élogieuses pour leur première au Festival de Jacob Pillow Dance avec Lightbody, ainsi que des spectacles au Prospect Park’s Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival, LMCC’s Evening Stars au World Trade Center et le Telluride Dance Festival dans le Colorado. MOUVEMENT THEATRE LAB a bénéficié de premières pour son ballet de science-fiction « Aquarius Rising » dans le cadre du City Parks SummerStage Series et Thoroughly Modern Michael à Aaron Davis Hall.

Outre son travail en compagnies, Michael est le Directeur de Programme du Complexions Contemporary Ballet’s dance intensives. Il enseigne à la fois pour Ailey Arts & Education Revelations et pour le programme Lubovitch Dance Your Dream. Sa chorégraphie a été commandée par l’Université de Caroline du Nord École des arts,  le Cape Town Dance Company, Le Frank Sinatra School of the Arts, le  Long Island University (Brooklyn and CW Post), Encuentro Internacional de Danza à Madrid (Espagne).

M. Thomas résume son travail avec Anna Deavere Smith, coach du mouvement, pour la tournée américaine et le tournage de son PBS one woman show Let Me Down Easy. Il continue à enseigner à Extension Ailey, aux États-Unis, à l’étranger et travaille actuellement sur sa prochaine production, Apotheosis. Il a obtenu son  diplôme de Professeur de danse à  la North Carolina School of Arts, où il a été récipiendaire du Prix du Chancelier pour l’excellence.